Join us and add your ideas

By joining the CMA you’ll be supporting our mission to strengthen community media in the UK. As a member you can access expertise, helping you to sustain and develop your organisation and be assured we are there to support you through challenges.

CMA membership is open to anyone who’s passionate about community broadcasting including those involved in licensed FM stations, small scale digital broadcasters, not for profit online stations and those who want to develop a career in the media. We support those who develop media skills and encourage emerging talent.
We are a members led organisation open to all participants engaged with not for profit media. Our growing membership are accessing a network of expertise, best practice and advice drawn from across the UK.  


Organisations: £60 per year
Individuals: £30 per year (waged)
£20 per year (unwaged)

To become a CMA member complete this form and we’ll get in touch with you regarding next steps or telephone 0207 720 3332

We are the link point with key sector stakeholders including quarterly meetings with Ofcom and a regular dialogue with Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS).

Our strong relationship with the Radio Academy ensures our members have access to training and celebratory events for the entire industry. Our memorandum of understanding with the BBC enables community radio stations to access support and content from BBC local stations.

The CMA delivers networking and training events and provides advice and support to members online and by telephone on community media issues.

Member benefits and discounts

Members have the opportunity to attend some industry events with reduced or complimentary tickets including the annual Community Media Festival.

Member organisations are also eligible for a discount with the CMA’s Canstream services which gets you broadcasting to the world via the Internet.
Terry Lee
University of Bedfordshire
Richard Hilton
Javed Sattar
Awaz FM, Glasgow
Danny Lawrence
Gateway 97.8, Basildon
Sian Medford
New Style Radio, Birmingham
Jason Rosam
Riverside Radio, London
Vijay Umrao
EAVA FM, Leicester
Suzi Stevens
Siren Radio, Lincoln
Neil Munday
SUSY Radio

Meet the team

The CMA has a governing council elected annually by our membership.


Meg Huria
Cathy Brooks


Dom Chambers
Sound Vision Charity
Steve Buckley
Sheffield Live
Dr Lawrie Hallet
Senior lecturer in radio and journalism, University of Bedfordshire
Dr Caroline Mitchell
Professor of Radio and Participation, University of Sunderland
Bill Best
Technical Solutions Manager at RadioPlayer UK
Dr Janey Gordon
Principal lecturer in journalism and communications, University of Bedfordshire