Get involved
with your local community media organisation

Find your local community radio station
Community media is largely about volunteering. Getting involved can be a great way of building skills and confidence, meeting new people, contributing to community life and professional development.

Your voice and support can make a real difference to your community.

Search our interactive map of CMA member radio stations and organisations throughout the UK →
Community Media Champions recognise individuals who've made a significant and special contribution to community media in the UK.
Become a Community Media Champion
Nominated by members of the Community Media Association Council a recipient of this honour will be a person who has contributed in an outstanding and impactful way to the lives of people and groups who run not for profit media which benefits local communities and communities of interest.

The CMA is building the Community Media Champions as a fellowship network which supports and advocates for community media in the UK. Community Media Champions are sponsored by Sound Vision
Danny Lawrence
Lesley Puller
Steve Buckley
Amarjit Khera
Andrew David
Mary Dowson
Lol Gellor

Danny Lawrence

Gateway 97.8

Former Chair of the Community Media Association Danny set up networking group The Radio Hub which connects community radio stations with events and training. He also represents the sector at Ofcom and led a hugely successful project distributing DAB digital radio sets to the vulnerable and isolated during the coronavirus pandemic.

Anthony Smith

Angel Radio

Anthony worked every day through the Covid pandemic to ensure older people are entertained, informed and stimulated by listening and taking part in Angel Radio. Working an average of 80+ hours a week. Also ensuring the expansion of Angel Radio continues to reach more and more older people.

Steve Buckley


Steve was a leading light in the establishment of the UK community radio sector and for setting up the CMA. Additionally, Steve’s international work representing the community media sector to the European Community, the World Bank, and to the United Nations over the years has contributed to the global perception of the benefits community media can bring.

Amarjit Khera

Desi Radio

Amarjit set up and ran a highly successful community radio station from the first days of the Acccess Radio pilot scheme. Desi Radio based in west London is the largest radio station for the Sikh community in the UK providing entertainment, information, and education.

Toby Whitehouse


Co-founded LGBTQ+ radio station Gaydio in 2006. It was conceived as a pop-up station for Manchester Pride. Toby made the annual Independent on Sunday Pink List, at number 29. The list features Britain’s most influential lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.

Sone Palda

Westside Radio

Sone is dedicated to discovering, developing and managing the next generation of broadcast and digital media talent. Sone has managed many different radio stations and is recognised as an innovator for having created and launched BBA Radio, the UK’s first station, dedicated to young British Asians in 2000.

Terry Mann


Established a community radio station serving Pontypridd and surrounding areas of Rhondda Cynon Taf in South Wales. GTFM provides an exemplary service to the local community and has responded to the pandemic in a positive way for the benefit of the local community.

Ian Robertson

East Coast

FM Scotland’s East Coast FM was the first community radio station to be awarded The Princess Royal Training Award. Ian paved the way for a number of community radio stations to follow. East Coast FM is in Haddington.

Andrew David

Siren FM

A former Chair of the CMA, Andrew joined the University of Lincoln in 2006 and has led Siren’s creation, development, growth and success for the last 16 years. Andrew has also been a key contributor to the teaching of Journalism in the College of Arts.

Lol Gellor

Sound Radio

Lol is a pioneer of community radio, a long-standing CMA member. He set up and ran one of the first Access Radio stations, Sound Radio in Hackney in 2003.

Fergus O’Hare

Raidió Fáilte

Established Raidió Fáilte which provides Irish language services to the Irish-speaking community in Belfast. Fergus was also involved in the civil rights movement in Northern Ireland as a member of People's Democracy in the late 1960s and early 1970s. Later he became a founding member and executive member of the Northern Resistance Movement, which continued to campaign for civil rights in Northern Ireland.

Mary Dowson

Bradford Community Broadcasting

Director of Bradford Community Broadcasting Mary has run BCB FM a highly successful community radio station from the first days of the Access Radio pilot scheme. She works hard to make sure the station is inclusive for the whole of the city of Bradford.Lesley Pullar Lesley has a long standing commitment to the community sector prior to the establishment of the first Access Radio pilot stations. She served as a Council Member at the CMA and a trustee of The Radio Academy.

Community Media Champions 2022